Pullen Wins Tigrett, COM Graduates

Union University graduated a group of 614 graduates during its 187th annual spring commencement ceremony May 19 on the university’s Great Lawn. The Communication Arts department saw a total of 28 students graduate.

As part of the ceremony, Union presented the Elizabeth Tigrett Medal to Katherine Pullen, a journalism and intercultural studies double major from Jacksonville, Fla. The award honors the mother of Isaac B. Tigrett, a former interim president at Union, as well as a benefactor and trustee. The Medal has been awarded since 1912 by vote of the entire Union faculty to an outstanding member of the senior class.

Among her many activities within the Communication Arts department, Pullen served on the Cardinal & Cream staff as a Staff Writer, Assistant News Editor, and Online Editor, as well as working on our daily news program Jackson 24-7 as an anchor, reporter and producer. In 2011, she was named the Best Multimedia Journalist in the South at the Southeast Journalism Conference (SEJC). Pullen has accepted a full scholarship to the graduate/doctoral program in Sociology at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee.

In a separate Awards Day ceremony, the following students were awards Academic Excellence Medals for maintaining the highest grade point average in their respective majors:

Alyssa Karr, Broadcast Journalism
Alex Brown, Journalism
Nigel Manuel, Media Communications
Emily Anderson, Theatre
Kina S. Mallard Communication Arts Student of the Year: Margaret Brinson, Journalism

This Spring’s Communication Arts graduates were:

Emily Anderson, Theatre/Speech
Margaret Brinson, Journalism
Alex Brown, Journalism
Joshua Brown, Journalism
Kara Dukes, Broadcast Journalism
Rebecca Felts, Digital Media Studies
Matthew Fike, Media Communications
Chad Hoy, Theatre/Speech
Whitney Jones, Journalism
Alyssa Karr, Broadcast Journalism and Sociology
Joseph Ladisa, Digital Media Studies
Hannah Lutz, Public Relations
Nigel Manuel, Media Communications
Katlyn Moncada, Journalism
Holly Naylor, Broadcast Journalism
Abby Ott, Journalism
Amanda Parrish, Journalism
Caroline Phillips, Public Relations
Cameron Puckett, Media Communications
Katherine Pullen, Journalism and Intercultural Studies
Juliana Robbins, Broadcast Journalism
Keaghlan Sheridan, Theatre/Speech
Amanda Short, Media Communications
Caleb Stallings, Media Communications and Philosophy
James Summerlin, Journalism
Philip Tang, Broadcast Journalism
Huay Ming Tay, Broadcast Journalism
Elizabeth Watson, Media Communications