Eaton named to NBS-AERho Board of Governors

Ray Eaton, broadcasting technician in the communication arts department, was recently elected to the Board of Governors for the National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho.

Eaton will serve a two-year term for the organization, a student and professional society of more than 85 chapters on college, university and high school campuses. He was elected to the position during the NBS convention in Washington, D.C.

“As a member of the board, I help to plan, implement and stage the national conventions as well as function as a member of specific task forces in the areas of fund raising, development, promotion and advisory roles,” Eaton said.

The 2014 convention will be held in March in Los Angeles. Eaton has been a member of NBS since 1998 and is the adviser for the group’s local chapter at Union.

In addition, Eaton and three Union students – junior Grant Atkinson and  junior Caroline Miller, both media communications majors, and senior Jacob Melder, broadcast journalism major, – were inducted into the Alpha Epsilon Rho Honor Society.